A heaven even Ted might enjoy

I’ve just read the firsthand account of a heaven I think even my brother Ted (especially Ted, as a lover of science fiction) would enjoy. It’s Betty J. Eadie’s Embraced by the Light.

First there was the obligatory tunnel, movement toward the light, the figure of a man radiating “a brilliant, magnificent whiteness. . .

“I could see that the golden halo burst out from around him and spread. . . I felt his light blending into mine. . . Although this light was much brighter than my own, I was aware that my light, too, illuminated us. And as our lights merged, I felt as if I had stepped into his countenance, and I felt an utter explosion of love. It was the most unconditional love I have ever felt. . .

“His light now began to fill my mind, and my questions were answered even before I fully asked them. His light was knowledge. . . I wanted to know everything. . . My comprehension was such that I could understand volumes in an instant. It was as if I could look at a book and comprehend it at a glance–as though I could just sit back while the book revealed itself to me in every detail, forward and backward, inside and out, every nuance and possible suggestion. . .

“I understood not only what people did but why they did it and how it affected other people’s perceptions of reality. . . and all of this brought a wholeness to an event or person or principle that was not possible to comprehend on earth.”

“. . . I walked on the grass for a time. It was crisp, cool, and brilliant green, and it felt alive under my feet. But what filled me with awe in the garden more than anything were the intense colors. We have nothing like them. . . . [Here], the light reflects off [an] object in a certain color. . . Light in the spirit world doesn’t necessarily reflect off anything. It comes from within. . . The flowers, for example, are so vivid and luminescent with color that they don’t seem solid. . .

“A beautiful river ran through the garden. . . fed by a large cascading waterfall of the purest water. . . a melody of majestic beauty carried from the waterfall and filled the garden. . . The music came from the water itself. . . and each drop produced its own tone and melody which mingled and interacted with every other sound and strain around it. The water was praising God for its life and joy. . . the thought came to me that these could possibly be the ‘living waters’ mentioned in the scriptures. . .”

“I noticed a rose. . . gently swaying to faint music, and singing praises to the Lord with sweet tones of its own. . . I seemed to be able to see down into it. . . as though my vision had become microscopic. . . I felt the rose’s presence around me. . . I experienced it as if I were the flower. . . I felt it. . . creating its own music, a melody that perfectly harmonized with the thousands of other roses. . . its petals produced their own tones. . . each working harmoniously for the overall effect–which was joy. . . I felt God in the plant, in me, his love pouring into us. We were all one!”

“. . . Our speed increased, and I felt the exhilaration of flight. I could do whatever I wanted, go wherever I desired, go fast–incredibly fast–or go slow. I loved the freedom. I entered the vastness of space and learned that it was not a void; it was full of love and light. . . I heard a soft, pleasant sound, a distant but comforting sound. . . It was a tone, similar to a note of music, but was universal and seemed to fill all the space around me. . . a vast, cosmic song. . . The tones produced soft vibrations, and as they touched me I knew that they possessed the power to heal.”

Back to her first meeting with the man of light: “There was no questioning who he was. I knew that he was my Savior, and friend, and God. He was Jesus Christ, who had always loved me, even when I thought he hated me. He was life itself, love itself, and his love gave me a fullness of joy, even to overflowing.”

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in faith, Jesus Christ, Joy, My brother Ted and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A heaven even Ted might enjoy

  1. Indian (feather, not dot) turned Mormon. ‘Nuff said.

    • Jessica says:

      What do you think heaven will be like, Richard?

      • Scripture tells us incredibly little about heaven, except that it will be glorious, we shall have all the knowledge that’s fit for us (we still won’t be omniscient), and that we will spend eternity worshiping God. When you get right down to it, all we really need to know is that Jesus will be there (and is there now, of course).

        I think that even you are skeptical of her supposed claims: “First, there was the obligatory tunnel…”. Stay skeptical.

  2. tedrey says:

    It has some very pleasant aspects, I agree. One mustn’t expect perfection. (:-)>

    Do you think her account has any validity, though?

    Love and peace,

    ted

    P.S. — # 1 thing not to say when Jesus embraces you, “Excuse me, sir, but do I know you?”

    On Sat, Jan 12, 2013 at 4:17 PM, hiddeninjesus

    • Jessica says:

      I don’t see why not.

      I expect Jesus would get a kick out of such a response.

      I meant to include more about flying through space: “I seemed to be gone for weeks, even months, visiting the many creations of God. I always felt the comforting presence of God’s love. I sensed that I was ‘back’ in my native environment and was doing only that which was natural. I traveled to many other worlds–earths like our own but more glorious, and always filled with loving, intelligent people. . . I traveled tremendous distances, knowing that the stars I saw were not visible from earth. I saw galaxies and traveled to them with ease and almost instantaneous speed, visiting their worlds. . . And all of this was a remembering, a reawakening. I knew that I had been to these places before.”

      On Sun, Jan 13, 2013 at 6:51 AM, hiddeninjesus

  3. Diane Lowell says:

    DOES sound Mormonesque. Very Mormonesque. And very appealing. Oh well, I am glad that the belief or non-belief in these trips to heaven does not affect my salvation.

  4. Tihamer Toth-Fejel says:

    It made me think of a quote in Ted’s story in Analog, “Can these bones rise?” (one of the top short stories I have ever read; imagine my delight when I discovered that he lived only a block from our new home in Ann Arbor):
    “All is metaphor for a somewhat more complex reality.”

Leave a Reply

