Tim: Ginkgold

It took about ten days to get back into the rhythms that work for the three of us and to get Tim’s nutrition, hydration, and medications stabilized.

His neurologist had diagnosed him with “very mild slowing of brain activity.” He prescribed the standard Aricept. We put him on Ginkgold* instead. It’s a formulation of gingko biloba (the only one) which, by stimulating blood circulation, increases the activity of the whole brain. It has been thoroughly tested and been shown to boost memory, concentration and mental clarity.

One Mayo Clinic website says, “Available evidence demonstrates ginkgo’s efficacy in the management of . . .  Alzheimer’s/multi-infarct dementia, and ‘cerebral insufficiency’ (a syndrome thought to be secondary to atherosclerotic disease, characterized by impaired concentration, confusion, decreased physical performance, fatigue, headache, dizziness, depression, and anxiety).”

Another one says “Overall, the scientific literature does suggest that ginkgo benefits people with early-stage Alzheimer’s disease and multi-infarct dementia, and it may be as helpful as acetylcholinesterase inhibitor drugs such as donepezil (Aricept®).”

I’ve been on Ginkgold for a year or so. So has Jerry. The recommended dose is one pill morning and evening. It helped my memory and concentration significantly within a day or two. I got so enthusiastic about it I increased my dose to two pills morning and evening. The evening dose increased the activity of my brain to such a degree I was having trouble sleeping. My thoughts were bouncing from subject to subject and when I did sleep I had wild dreams. So I can testify to its ability to stimulate the whole brain!

I cut back. On days I found myself groping for names or nouns or having difficulty tracking with things I would take half a pill. Now I can micromanage my brain function with half a pill every 3 or 4 days.  When I take it that (in)frequently, I feel normal.

The neurologist scoffed at my giving Tim ginkgo biloba, says it’s worthless, but I notice Tim responds to it the same way I do. Each time he comes back to us he arrives with all the symptoms of “cerebral insufficiency” mentioned above and a week or so later is able to understand explanations and follow directions much more easily. He’s less frustrated, less anxious, less demanding.

My goal is to maximize his mental and physical health and stamina for the Reynolds family reunion in Michigan next month. He is the family patriarch after all. He needs to be at the top of his form.

*The cheapest source we’ve found is amazon.com.

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, My brother Tim and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tim: Ginkgold

  1. I didn’t like my mom’s reaction to aricept at all and asked that she be taken off. Since it was not a life threatening medication if she did not take it, the nursing home complied. In a couple of days, the head nurse agreed with me. All it did was frustrate my mom. She knew that she did not know! She was happier in her fourth stage of Alzheimer’s; sort of a “ignorance is bliss” state of affairs! I wish I’d known to try ginko. Thanks for the explaining.

Leave a Reply

