Tim: Helping around the house

At the Fourth of July get-together at a nearby park Tim was complaining about us to a friend of ours. I know because when I approached them they both looked at me guiltily and our friend blurted out, “Tim says you won’t let him help around the house!”

“I’d love to have him help,” I said.

So the next day when he was sitting at the table after breakfast and I was doing dishes and he said something about doing his own, I said cheerfully, “You can do all of them, if you want!”

The dishes were still sitting on the counter after dinner (and you will recall that we have ants). I set in to wash them myself. Tim came over and said, “When I do dishes, I do them all at once, at the end of the day.” Then “I’ll show you how I wash them.”

He came over, turned on the water (hot or cold, I don’t know) and started doing triage with the dishes that were there, saying, “This plate doesn’t need to be washed. It just had crumbs on it.” And “This cereal bowl doesn’t need to be washed. It just had milk in it.”

He took a fistful of silverware, ran it under the faucet and stuck it in the drainer. “I wash them like this.”

I picked up a butter knife with butter still attached and pointed the fact out to him.

“Oh,” he said.

“That’s okay,” I said. “I’ll just wash them myself. I don’t mind.”

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Helping others, My brother Tim and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tim: Helping around the house

  1. What grated on me was when my mom would say, “I didn’t teach you to do it that way.” I’d clench my teeth and be quiet, but the voice inside me was saying, “And that’s why I was eager to get out of the house and pay my own way through college.” The calendar changes, but it seems people don’t. As I recall on older posts, Tim was not a shining example of fastidiousness. LOL

  2. kateekat says:

    We found a really great ant bait (homemade and safe). It doesn’t work immediately (the ants have to carry it to the queen), and it hasn’t gotten rid of all of them, but out (tremendous) ant problems are reduced by 90% with it. Email me and i’ll send it if you want. Glad things are going a bit smoother.

    • Thank you, Kathryn. Haven’t had time to deal with the ants yet. We don’t usually have streams or clumps of them, just a few here and a few there–but “here” and “there” can be anywhere!

      On Thu, Jul 18, 2013 at 7:40 AM, hiddeninjesus

  3. as16@juno.com says:

    Typical single male!!! Cleanliness is not next to Godliness!!! In fact, I doubt any of them would survive without us women. Allean

    Please note: message attached

Leave a Reply

