Meanwhile, my current reading. . .

. . . is more random than my brother’s. Tim’s all has to do with approaches to spiritual reality. Mine consists of:

The Voyage of the Golden Rule: An Experiment with Truth by Albert Bigelow. My copy was autographed by the author to my mother: “To Barbara – a vital link in the chain of miracles.  With love, Bert.” This true account of a voyage of conscience to protest nuclear testing is the other pivotal (and nautical) book which inspired my family of origin, the family reuniting soon a long way from the sea. You can read how the Golden Rule inspired our own protest voyages on the Phoenix on His Scribe Sept. 14, 2010 and following. (Come to think of it, this book presents a Quaker approach to spiritual reality.)

Love Your God With All Your Mind: The Role of Reason in the Life of the Soul by J.P. Moreland, a challenge to Christians to undergird their faith with a thoughtful, reasoned apologetic.* *Serving as or containing a formal justification or defense. Okay, this is an approach to spiritual reality, too.

Return to the Hundred Acre Wood by David Benedictus, a children’s book about stuffed animals. This satisfying sequel to Winnie the Pooh, 80 years after, introduces “something slinky that comes out of the river,” a cricket match, a dream of Africa and a harvest festival. It’s a very good restorative for emotional depletion. (The spiritual implications of Winnie are covered in The Pooh Perplex: a Freshman Casebook, which I am going to re-read next.)

My reading goals this year were to make headway through classics C.S. Lewis valued. I got through Homer all right but am not making great progress with Augustine’s City of God. I get a lot out of it when I do read it but I have to really concentrate and I just can’t seem to concentrate well at present. I’m also reading through the One-Year Bible for New Believers (and Our Daily Bread)  in the morning and The Amplified New Testament (and Days of Praise) with Jerry at night.

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books, C.S. Lewis, Classics, faith, fun, Important Occasions, Literature, sailing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meanwhile, my current reading. . .

  1. tedrey says:

    I’m concentrating on the latter half of the 20th century in books by Paul Johnson (history), Asimov (science), Taton (technology), Durant (literature), and Copleston (philosophy).

Leave a Reply

