Walkies or no walkies?

Some mornings we walk. Some mornings we don’t. It depends on how late we’ve slept and how hot it is when we get up.

Yesterday the phone woke us and we’d just drifted back to sleep when it woke us again.

“We have to go for a walk,” Jerry murmured, “if only to get the phone to stop ringing.”

As we were dressing to leave he said, “The sun’s coming out. We’ve got to go back to bed and get up earlier.”

My mind gets under weigh so slowly in the mornings that almost sounded like it made sense.

“Under weigh” or “under way”? http://public.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/underweigh.html Hmm. I think I like being called a “sophisticated writer” even if I’m wrong.

http://www.worldwidewords.org/qa/qa-und2.htm “Under weigh” sounds nautical, whether it really was originally or not, and I grew up on a boat. Case closed.

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in amusing anecdotes, My husband Jerry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Walkies or no walkies?

  1. tedrey says:

    What Jerry said was brilliant. I’ll have to say it yesterday so I’ll have priority.

  2. I go for a walk in Heartwell Park every morning (7 days a week – rain or shine, and walking in the rain is fun!). I’m usually out for about an hour and a half (it’s a big park). Dodging the sprinklers, when they’re running, is half the fun. I wonder, daily, how many of my regulars I’ll see: old-woman-with dogs, tall-young-woman-with dogs, huff-and-puff man (a dedicated runner with a distinctive breathing technique), stick-man (carries his stick, rarely using it to actually walk with), and tricycle-man (an older man who has a special low-slung tricycle for adults). I’ve always enjoyed a good walk. One of the reasons I do it it that, at almost 61, I don’t know if I’ll be able to walk like that ten years from now.

Leave a Reply

