The Robe – Saturday

Today I’m not so sure. He returned our robe but he hasn’t worn his. Instead he’s wearing his long-sleeved red shirt (which I had washed) and his overalls (which he had found). At one point he said he was cold. I suggested he come outside with us where it was warmer but he only came out for a minute. When I came inside for something he asked if it was warm upstairs and I said it was. I offered to go set up his e-mail but he never came up. He just wandered aimlessly around the house.

I think I have hurt his feelings. I have apologized three times for being so cranky with him this week. I called our niece Naomi and had her call him (when he hears his own name on the answering machine, he picks up). I hope hearing from her helped. He went out for a walk afterwards, saying it was “doctor’s orders.”

But he isn’t himself. He’s listless and subdued.

And it’s all my fault. I criticized and made fun of him which is bad enough but I did it publicly on this blog, which is worse (even though he doesn’t know about it). I am thoroughly ashamed of myself.

 

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, My brother Tim, My niece Naomi. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Robe – Saturday

  1. tedrey says:

    Yes, it’s too easy to use the blog for what really belongs (for now) in private correspondence. E-mail itself makes me nervous; so often I have said “Oops, bad mistake” just after punching “Send.”

    On Sun, Nov 3, 2013 at 2:03 AM, hiddeninjesus

  2. as16@juno.com says:

    It is very frustrating taking care of someone who is sharp in some areas and confused in others. And venting your frustrations is therapeutic sometimes for you. Reminding yourself that he probably can’t help it, might make it easier. In the early stages of my mom’s dementia I would get so frustrated with her because my expectation was that she was the same as before,

    Please note: message attached

  3. It’s not “all your fault.” It’s the fault of the Alzheimer’s Disease. Perhaps God is using episodes like this to increase your patience with Tim.

Leave a Reply

