Ten things our family didn’t know about Margot…or organic goats

My niece Margot Backus [Tim’s daughter] wrote on Facebook:

“I was given the number 10, so here are 10 things that you may not know about me:

1. I hitch-hiked to Montana and back with my partner Mark Jones when I was nineteen
2. and I lived in a tent in the Seal Mountain range in a tree planting camp.
3. When I was twenty four I worked on an organic goat farm in Newburyport Massachusetts.
4. I originally majored in zoology at Southern Illinois University and I wanted to be a herpetologist, or maybe an ichthyologist.
5. But my favorite class was animal behavior.
6. When I was a kid my dearest wish was to be a Boy Scout.
7. Also, a hippy.
8. I have been a Marxist since I was five years old and asked a nanny (who happened to be from England) why some children have a lot of stuff and live in big houses and some have little; she said “there is a man named Karl Marx who thinks all children should have the same amount, but don’t tell your parents I told you.”
9. I first trained folks to do civil disobedience (as part of east coast anti-nuclear movement in the 1980’s) before the first time I ever did civil disobedience myself.
10. Until I was 27 my name was Margot Arnet FitzGerald. I changed my name to Margot Gayle Backus because I found out that when I was born my birth mother named me Gayle Backus, and because I dreamed I told my mother that was my name.

If you like my status, I will give a number…”

This started a Reynolds “Round Robin” of responses.

1. My brother Ted, Margot’s uncle, wrote: Wow!  Maybe civil disobedience skips a generation! I’ll have to process all this, but for now I can only think bemusedly “Are there any nonorganic goats?”

2. Ted’s daughter Naomi (Margot’s cousin, my niece, and a doctor) wrote: Ted, Legally speaking, a non-organic goat is a goat that is fed non-organic feed (that is food that has been grown with the use of artificial pesticides and/or fertilizers). Science-fiction-authorly speaking, you of all people should know that a non-organic goat is a robot goat.   I would not be surprised if the Japanese haven’t already built one ;-). But I agree, that biologically speaking, all goats are organic. Love, Naomi

3. Lisa, another of Ted’s daughters, (Naomi’s sister, Margot’s cousin, my niece and a veterinarian) wrote: I believe also that ur goats can’t have drugs such as deworming medication or antibiotics or other such stuff – the organic ones that is, lol. DOL Lisa

4. Ted: I sure am glad non-organic goats aren’t goats without organs . . . that would be icky.

5.  Tony (Margot’s, Lisa’s, Naomi’s  cousin,  Tim’s son and my nephew] wrote: If the Japanese haven’t built one already, put it on Laria’s to do list. [Laria is Ted’s daughter whose 8th grade class was just awarded first place for their space station design.]
.

6. Naomi replied: No need for Laria to do it.   See below:

http://gizmodo.com/318171/robot-goat-feeds-on-broken-dreams

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in animals, fun, human interest anecdotes, Humor, My brother Ted, My brother Tim, My nephew Tony, My niece Laria Reynolds, My niece Lisa, My niece Margot, My niece Naomi, peace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ten things our family didn’t know about Margot…or organic goats

  1. tedrey says:

    Jessica,

    On Fri, Nov 15, 2013 at 8:44 PM, hiddeninjesus

  2. tedrey says:

    Jessica,

    You might want to sneak in a correction. “Laria’s *8th* grad class,” not *3rd.*

    On Fri, Nov 15, 2013 at 8:44 PM, hiddeninjesus

  3. So, Margot’s a Communist? Apparently, she didn’t get the memo…

Leave a Reply

