POEM: A Skeptic at Communion

Since my brother Ted asked me about this in his comment to my previous post. . .

THE AMBER BEAD

I saw a fly within a bead
Of amber cleanly buried;
The urn was little, but the room
More rich than Cleopatra’s tomb.
–Robert Herrick

A SKEPTIC AT COMMUNION
after Robert Herrick’s “The Amber Bead”

I saw a fly within a dose
Of grape juice, clearly comatose;
The host was Welch’s, but the sense
The mystery of immanence.

I saw him floating in the cup
As soon as I had picked it up–
And smiled: thus God prevented me
From drinking Him unworthily.
–Jessica Shaver Renshaw

Re-posted from my blog BONUS FEATURES. Note: I wasn’t a Christian yet and had been wrestling within myself as to whether to take communion or not. God decided it for me!

About Jessica Renshaw

hiddeninjesus.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in church, human interest anecdotes, Humor, me, My brother Ted, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

